Crafting · Crochet

The Commission that nearly Broke me

I finally finished something!

SAM_0104

I was commissioned to make these slippers two years ago. Over that since I bought the pattern on September 11, 2012. They were featured on one of the cheezeburger sites. The original pattern (which can be purchased here: https://www.etsy.com/shop/miligurumis ) was for a Panzer tank, but he wanted these to be Sherman Tanks.

He provided the yarn, which was a hand-spun wool yarn made a few hours south of us.

I have learned I hate working with wool.

It took me forever to finish the pieces, and just as long to assemble it. The instructions were adequete but not great, so I had to do a lot of “What the hell does this mean!?”. I had to completely guess on assembling, since the pattern was just “join these two pieces” but not HOW she did it. I did have to learn a new technique for them – back and front post stitches – which I’m now employing in my tarot bags.

The total pieces were 2 soles, 2 medium part of the hull, 2 upper hulls, 2 turrets, 2 barrels, 4 exhausts, 4 tracks, 4 spoke wheels and 20 regular wheels. There were 42 pieces total.

SAM_0107

I’m a bit of a perfectionist, I’ve found, so when something wasn’t working perfectly, I’d throw up my hands and put it to the side for a long time. I also discovered that I crochet a whole lot tighter than most, so I have to go up a hook size or two to get the same gauge.

There was no gauge in the pattern, which means I was halfway through the first sole when I figured that part out.

My mantra became “It doesn’t have to be perfect, it just has to be done!”

Since it was a commission and I was supposed to be working on it, I would go “oh, I can’t work on X project because I have the slippers.” And then the thought of working on the slippers was too much and I wouldn’t work on anything.

I’ve found that unless I set aside specific times to work on things, the mood never strikes me, so I never work on things.

SAM_0106

I finally finished all the wheels a while back and assembled two of the tracks. Plastic stitch holders that look like safety pins are the greatest thing ever. I was able to line up everything and see where things were supposed to be and THEN sew them in. I never would have been able to assemble the darn slippers without them.

SAM_0109

Then I put the project to the side, again. But this time to do something slightly more important – organize the gaming/craft room.

I had plans on Saturday that completely fell through (and I get to blame a manager and/or district manager for that). So I sat down, put some music on my phone, and rocked them out. I got everything done but the exhaust on Saturday, and rocked out those Sunday morning.

SAM_0105

The stars were evil and I’m still not happy with them. But they kinda sorta maybe look like stars.

I’ve got ONE more commission that I need to work on. I organized the gaming/crafting room so I can work on it and not have to clean it up twice a week when we use that room for gaming. That was part of the problem of working on that one. “Oh, I don’t want to bring everything out to work for two hours and then have to put EVERYTHING back again.

After that I have a couple afghans to rock out. It’s a lot of squares (which I do at work when it’s slow) and assembling (More weekend projects!). And then, finally, maybe, I can start posting things on my etsy store to sell.

One thing at a time.

And NO MORE COMMISSIONS FOR A LONG TIME! GAH!

One thought on “The Commission that nearly Broke me

Thoughts?

